Skip to Main Content

Active GSOs

Association for Computing Machinery – ACM
President: Sandeep Nair (sand7@umbc.edu) 
Engage computer science graduate students to enable technical empowerment and networking.

Baltimore Participatory Action Research- B’PAR
Co-President: Sherella Cupid (cupids1@umbc.edu) 
Co-President: Frank Anderson (afrank3@umbc.edu) 
B’PAR GSO has been established to serve as a network, forum, and safe space for UMBC graduate students who are interested or engaged in participatory research networks.

Bangladesh Student Association @ UMBC
President: Tahmid Abtahi (abtahi1@umbc.edu)
To promote Bangladesh and Bangladeshi culture among the UMBC community.

Chemical and Biochemical Engineering – BioCHEGS
President: Cynthia Chelius (chelius1@umbc.edu)
To promote interaction between full/part-time graduate students in Chemical and Mechanical Engineering.

Chemistry Graduate Student Association – CGSA
President: Evgenia Barannikova (evgenia1@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in the Chemistry Department.

Chinese Students & Scholar Association – CSSA
President: Zheng Li (zhengli1@umbc.edu)
To serve Chinese students and scholars at UMBC.

Graduate Association of Biological Sciences – GABS
President: Alice Chou (achou2@umbc.edu)
To promote the welfare of graduate students in the Department of Biological Sciences.

Graduate Student of Environmental Engineering – GEE
President: Trevor Needham (needham1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect GEE graduate students.

Geography and Environmental Science Graduate Community – GESGC
President: Jared Marguilies (jmarguilies@umbc.edu)
To organize social events, promote the academic and professional growth of its members, and communicate formally with the GES faculty.

Graduate Student Organization of the Education Department- GSOED
President: Becca Weinberg (rewe1@umbc.edu)
To maintain community in MAT and MAE programs and to provide opportunity for collaboration among education graduate students.

Human Centered Information Systems – HCIS
President: Christopher Wong (cwong7@umbc.edu)
To support graduate students in Information Systems (IS) and Human-Centered Computing (HCC).

Indian Student Association (EKTA)
President: Siddhant Bhatankar (umbc.ekta@gmail.com)
Helping Indian students to settle into life in the community and celebrating Indian festivals..

Interculturalists- INCC GSO
President: Paula Villanueva (paula7@umbc.edu)
Uniting UMBC Graduate community into the Masters Program in INCC and promoting professional development and natural support.
Imaging and Digital Arts Graduate Student Organization – IMDA GSO
President: Jaclin Paul (ja13@umbc.edu)
To network and organize socials and critique events for graduate students in Visual Arts (IMDA Program).

The Erickson School Management in Aging Services GSO – MAgS
President: Aramide Awosika (awosika27@umbc.edu)
To engage current and future MAgS students in business and policy issues relative to aging services.

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association – MGSA
President: Maraki Negesse (mneges1@umbc.edu)
To support minority graduate students in the STEM field through workshops, networking events, and social settings.

Math & Statistics Graduate Student Association – MSGSA
President: Rabab El Naiem (tc97295@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in Mathematics & Statistics.

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Student Association – MEGSA
President: William Rivera (wrivera1@umbc.edu)
To provide a sense of community in Mechanical Engineering and a means to promote synergy in the department and graduate student community.

MPS Biotechnology GSO
President: John Habibi (habibi2@umbc.edu)
To engage the UMBC community in the growing field of biotechnology.

Language, Literacy & Culture Graduate Student Organization – LLC GSO
President: Felix Burgos (fburgos1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect LLC graduate students.

Psychology Graduate Student Organization – PGSO
President: Lindsay Emery (lemery1@umbc.edu)
To build community among students in the Psychology Graduate Program.

Physics Graduate Student Association – PGSA
President: Jaron Kropp (kroppj1@umbc.edu)
To facilitate a relationship between the department and graduate students.

Public Policy Graduate Student Organization – PPGSO
President: Kevin Baier (kbaier1@umbc.edu)
To support academic, professional, and social development among students, faculty, staff, and alumni associated with Public Policy and related subjects at UMBC.

Gerontology – Sigma Phi Omega
President: Jing Xu (xuj1@umbc.edu)
To promote scholarship, research, professionalism, and excellence in gerontology and aging services, and to recognize high attainment in the pursuit of academic and professional excellence in these areas.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics – SIAM
President: Samuel Khuvis (khsa1@umbc.edu)
To foster interest in applied mathematics.

Sociology GSO- SGSO
President: Victoria Skinner (victor6@umbc.edu)
Supporting graduate students who are working towards their Masters of Arts in Applied Sociology or their Graduate certificate in the non-profit sector.

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Graduate Student Organization – ESOL Club
President: Katie Edwards (esol@umbc.edu)
To support and connect both domestic and international students in the TESOL Program.