Skip to Main Content

Active GSOs

Association for Computing Machinery – ACM
President: Akshay Peshave (peshave1@umbc.edu)
Engage computer science graduate students to enable technical empowerment and networking.

Baltimore Participatory Action Research- B’PAR
Co-President: Tahira Mahdi (tahira1@umbc.edu)
Co-President: Diane Kuthy (dkuthy1@umbc.edu)
B’PAR GSO has been established to serve as a network, forum, and safe space for UMBC graduate students who are interested or engaged in participatory research networks.

Bangladesh Student Association @ UMBC
President: Sazedul Alam (sazedul1@umbc.edu)
To promote Bangladesh and Bangladeshi culture among the UMBC community.

Chemical and Biochemical Engineering – BioCHEGS
President: Kiranmayi Mangalgiri (kmangal1@umbc.edu)
To promote interaction between full/part-time graduate students in Chemical and Mechanical Engineering.

Chemistry Graduate Student Association – CGSA
President: Scott Riley (sriley6@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in the Chemistry Department.

Chinese Students & Scholar Association – CSSA
President: Yao Li (liyao1@umbc.edu)
To serve Chinese students and scholars at UMBC.

Graduate Association of Biological Sciences – GABS
President:  Lucas Horn (lhorn1@umbc.edu)
To promote the welfare of graduate students in the Department of Biological Sciences.

Graduate Student of Environmental Engineering – GEE
President: Huan Xia (huanxia1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect GEE graduate students.

Geography and Environmental Science Graduate Community – GESGC
President: Jennifer Mayo (jennifermayo2@gmail.com)
To organize social events, promote the academic and professional growth of its members, and communicate formally with the GES faculty.

Graduate Organization for Information Systems – GOIS
President: Josephine Namayanja (jona1@umbc.edu)
To provide social, advocacy and educational services to the Information Systems graduate population.

Indian Student Association (EKTA)
President: Abhishek Gajra (gajra1@umbc.edu)
Helping Indian students to settle into life in the community and celebrating Indian festivals.

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers- IEEE
President: Lisa Matthews (math1@umbc.edu)
To provide a technical and networking platform to graduate students.

Interculturalists- INCC GSO
President: Molly Lemoine (lemoine1@umbc.edu)
Uniting UMBC Graduate community into the Masters Program in INCC and promoting professional development and natural support.
Iranian Graduate Student Association – IGSA
President: Mehregan Jalalizadeh (mjalali1@umbc.edu)
To provide a friendly and united atmosphere for Iranian and UMBC graduate students with common interest in Iranian culture and traditions.

Imaging and Digital Arts Graduate Student Organization – IMDA GSO
Melissa Cormier (melico1@umbc.edu)
To network and organize socials and critique events for graduate students in Visual Arts (IMDA Program).

The Erickson School Management in Aging Services GSO - MAgS
President: Ashley Johnson (jashley1@umbc.edu)
To engage current and future MAgS students in business and policy issues relative to aging services.

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association – MGSA
President: Jodian Brown (jobrown1@umbc.edu)
To support minority graduate students in the STEM field through workshops, networking events, and social settings.

Math & Statistics Graduate Student Association – MSGSA
President: Zois Boukouvalas (zb1@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in Mathematics & Statistics.

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Student Association – MEGSA
President: Scott Smith (ssmith11@umbc.edu)
To provide a sense of community in Mechanical Engineering and a means to promote synergy in the department and graduate student community.

Language, Literacy & Culture Graduate Student Organization – LLC GSO
President: Uzma Rashid (urashid1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect LLC graduate students.

Psychology Graduate Student Organization – PGSO
President: Greg Epstein (gregoryepstein@umbc.edu)
To build community among students in the Psychology Graduate Program.

Physics Graduate Student Association – PGSA
President: Roy Prouty (proutyr1@umbc.edu)
To facilitate a relationship between the department and graduate students.

Public Policy Graduate Student Organization – PPGSO
President: Kevin Baier (kbaier1@umbc.edu)
To support academic, professional, and social development among students, faculty, staff, and alumni associated with Public Policy and related subjects at UMBC.

Gerontology – Sigma Phi Omega
President: Alida Loinaz (alidaloinaz@gmail.com)
To promote scholarship, research, professionalism, and excellence in gerontology and aging services, and to recognize high attainment in the pursuit of academic and professional excellence in these areas.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics – SIAM
President: Samuel Khuvis (khsa1@umbc.edu)
To foster interest in applied mathematics.

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Graduate Student Organization – TESOL GSO
President: Anna Smoot (annasm1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect both domestic and international students in the TESOL Program.