Active GSOs

Association for Computing Machinery – ACM
President: Prajit K. Das (prajit1@umbc.edu)
To provide a forum for student interaction and provide opportunities for members to expand their knowledge of computing.

Bangladesh Student Association @ UMBC
President: Omar Shehab (shehab1@umbc.edu)
To promote Bangladesh and Bangladeshi culture among the UMBC community.

Chemical and Biochemical Engineering – BioCHEGS
President: Natasha P. Wilson (natasha1@umbc.edu)
To promote interaction between full/part-time graduate students in Chemical and Mechanical Engineering.

Chemistry Graduate Student Association – CGSA
President: Arunendra Saha Ray (arun5@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in the Chemistry Department.

Chinese Students & Scholar Association – CSSA
President: Yao Li (liyao1@umbc.edu)
To serve Chinese students and scholars at UMBC.

Graduate Association of Biological Sciences – GABS
President:  Lucas Horn (lhorn1@umbc.edu)
To promote the welfare of graduate students in the Department of Biological Sciences.

Graduate Student of Environmental Engineering – GEE
President: Nebechi Osia (nos1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect GEE graduate students.

Geography and Environmental Science Graduate Community – GESGC
President: Andrew Miller (am22@umbc.edu)
To organize social events, promote the academic and professional growth of its members, and communicate formally with the GES faculty.

Graduate Organization for Information Systems – GOIS
President: Josephine Namayanja (jona1@umbc.edu)
To provide social, advocacy and educational services to the Information Systems graduate population.

Graduate Student Organization for the Education Department – GSOED
President: Sarah Weber (sarah.weber@umbc.edu)
To provide friendly and united support and networking opportunities among graduate students in the ECE, ELEM and SEC education departments.

Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers- IEEE
President Jorge Texieira (jt11@umbc.edu)
To provide a technical and networking platform to graduate students.

Iranian Graduate Student Association – IGSA
President: Navid Goudarzi (navid2@umbc.edu)
To provide a friendly and united atmosphere for Iranian and UMBC graduate students with common interest in Iranian culture and traditions.

Imaging and Digital Arts Graduate Student Organization – IMDA GSO
Kata Frederick (kfred1@umbc.edu)
To network and organize socials and critique events for graduate students in Visual Arts (IMDA Program).

The Erickson School Management in Aging Services GSO - MAgS
President: Kim High (highk1@umbc.edu)
To engage current and future MAgS students in business and policy issues relative to aging services.

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association – MGSA
President: Jodian Brown (jobrown1@umbc.edu)
To support minority graduate students in the STEM field through workshops, networking events, and social settings.

Math & Statistics Graduate Student Association – MSGSA
President: Andrew Raim (araim1@umbc.edu)
To represent graduate students in Mathematics & Statistics.

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Student Association – MEGSA
President: Scott Smith (ssmith11@umbc.edu)
To provide a sense of community in Mechanical Engineering and a means to promote synergy in the department and graduate student community.

Language, Literacy & Culture Graduate Student Organization – LLC GSO
President: Satarupa Joardar (satarupa@gmail.com)
To support and connect LLC graduate students.

Psychology Graduate Student Organization – PGSO
President: Jason Kisser (jk6@umbc.edu)
To build community among students in the Psychology Graduate Program.

Physics Graduate Student Association – PGSA
President: Roy Prouty (proutyr1@umbc.edu)
To facilitate a relationship between the department and graduate students.

Public Policy Graduate Student Organization – PPGSO
President: Gretchen Shaub (gshaub1@umbc.edu)
To support academic, professional, and social development among students, faculty, staff, and alumni associated with Public Policy and related subjects at UMBC.

Gerontology – Sigma Phi Omega
President: Colleen Bennett (coll4@umbc.edu)
To promote scholarship, research, professionalism, and excellence in gerontology and aging services, and to recognize high attainment in the pursuit of academic and professional excellence in these areas.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics – SIAM
President: Jonathan McHenry (jon4@umbc.edu)
To foster interest in applied mathematics.

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages Graduate Student Organization – TESOL GSO
President: Anna Smoot (annasm1@umbc.edu)
To support and connect both domestic and international students in the TESOL Program.

Women in Science and Engineering – WISE
President: Nusrat Rahman (nusrat1@umbc.edu)
To support women in graduate school, particularly in the fields of science and engineering, by addressing the needs of women through fun-filled events, activities and talks with women in industry and academia about their experiences.