Skip to Main Content

GSOs 18-19

Non-graduate program affiliated GSOs 

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

Senators Avani Dave daveavani@umbc.edu
Arya Renjan arenjan1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Tim Finin finin@umbc.edu

 

Bangledesh Student Association (BSA)

Senators Avijoy Chakma achakma1@umbc.edu
Nuzhat Maisha nuzhat.maisha@umbc.edu
Adviser Muhammad Talukder anisuzzaman@umbc.edu

 

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

Senators Bai Xue baixue1@umbc.edu
Tiantian Xie xtiant1@umbc.edu
Adviser Jiaqi Gong jgong@umbc.edu

Indian Student Association (EKTA)

Senators Chaitanya Kulkarni chai2@umbc.edu
Shivani Sinnarkar shivani5@umbc.edu
Adviser George Karabatis georgek@umbc.edu

Iranian Graduate Student Association (IGSA)

Senators Seyed Ehsan Jamali Mahabadi sjamali1@umbc.edu
Ali Mohammadabadi alimoh1@umbc.edu
Adviser Hamed Pirsiavash hpirsiav@umbc.edu

Living Network of Connective Sciences (LNCS)

Senators Kenneth Childers kchilde1@umbc.edu
Rachael Knoblauch rknobla1@umbc.edu
Adviser Brian Cullum cullum@umbc.edu

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association (MGSA)

Senators Maraki Negesse mneges1@umbc.edu
Erin Kennedy eriken1@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Johnson bivins@umbc.edu

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Senators Luan Nguyen lnguyen4@umbc.edu
Janita Patwardhan janita1@umbc.edu
Adviser Andrei Draganescu draga@umbc.edu

Sigma Phi Omega Gerontology Honor Society (SPO)

Senators Eugenie Stephenson eugstep1@umbc.edu
Gretchen Tucker gtucke1@umbc.edu
Adviser John Schumacher jschuma@umbc.edu

#SistaScholars Graduate Student Organization

Senators Ngeri Nnachi ngeri1@umbc.edu
Montia Gardner montiag1@umbc.edu
Adviser Tammy Henderson xu61256@umbc.edu

 

Graduate Program GSOs 

Applied Mathematics 

Senators Luan Nguyen lnguyen4@umbc.edu
Eswar Kumar H. K. eswar1@umbc.edu
Adviser Animikh Biswas abiswas@umbc.edu

Applied Developmental Psychology 

Senators Rebecca Dowling rebe7@umbc.edu
Brittany Gay brit11@umbc.edu
Adviser Susan Sonnenschein sonnensc@umbc.edu

Applied Sociology 

Senators Fariha Khalid fariha1@umbc.edu
Marie Martin mamart1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Marina Adler adler@umbc.edu

Atmospheric Physics

Senators Achala Denagamage dwick1@umbc.edu
Noah Sienkiewicz noahs3@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Zhibo Zhang zzbatmos@umbc.edu

Biological Sciences 

Senators Maki Negesse mneges1@umbc.edu
Mallika Bhattacharya mallika1@umbc.edu
Adviser Michelle Starz-Gaiano starz@umbc.edu

Chemistry 

Senators Melissa Roll meli7@umbc.edu
Chanda Lawrence lowranc1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dennis Cuddy cuddy@umbc.edu

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering 

Senators Nuzhat Maisha gp03454@umbc.edu
Joel Tyson jtyson@umbc.edu
Adviser Gregory Szeto gszeto@umbc.edu

Computer Science 

Senators Bandi Adithya adithyb1@umbc.edu
Nisha Pillai npillai1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Charles Nicholas nicholas@umbc.edu

Education 

Senators Molly Hart Mollyh3@umbc.edu
Shariece Evans shariecej@umbc.edu
Adviser Susan Blunck Blunck@umbc.edu

Emergency Health Services

Senators Taylor Lutich lutay1@umbc.edu
Kara Buckmaster kbuck3@umbc.edu
Adviser Renee Decker rdecker@umbc.edu

Environmental Engineering 

Senators Joel Tyson jtyson@umbc.edu
Nuzhat Maisha gp03454@umbc.edu
Adviser Christopher Hennigan hennigan@umbc.edu

Geography & Environmental Systems

Senators Alex Rittle arittle1@umbc.edu
John-Henry Pitas jpitas1@umbc.edu
Adviser Alan Yeakley yeakley@umbc.edu

Gerontology 

Senators Eugenie Stephenson eugstep1@umbc.edu
Gretchen Tucker gtucke1@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Golden jgolden@som.umaryland.edu

Historical Studies 

Senators Zach Tucker tuckz1@umbc.edu
Finney Rocca trocca1@umbc.edu
Adviser Daniel Ritchel ritschel@umbc.edu

Human Services Psychology 

Senators Christa Lewis clewis12@umbc.edu
Lauren Faulkner faulk1@umbc.edu
Adviser Steve Pitts spitts@umbc.edu

Intermedia & Digital Arts 

Senators Jason Charney charney1@umbc.edu
Adan Rodriguez adan3@umbc.edu
Adviser Lisa Moren lmoren@umbc.edu

Intercultural Communication 

Senators James Lee McNairn jmcnair1@umbc.edu
Jaione Díaz Mazquiarán jdiazma2@umbc.edu
Adviser Nicoleta Bazgan nbazgan@umbc.edu

Language, Literacy & Culture 

Senators Deanna Cerquetti deanna5@umbc.edu
Adam Holden aholden1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Beverly Bickel bickel@umbc.edu

Management of Aging Services

Senators George Asseng wm74253@umbc.edu
Elaine Rudder elainer@umbc.edu
Adviser Galina Madjaroff galina1@umbc.edu

Mechanical Engineering 

Senators William Rivera wrivera1@umbc.edu
Saman Nezami Saman2@umbc.edu
Adviser Mark Zupan mzupan@umbc.edu

Physics 

Senators Ian Nodurft nodurft1@umbc.com
David Thorsteinsson davidt2@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Todd Pittman todd.pittman@umbc.edu

Public Policy 

Senators Poulomi Banerjee poulomib22@umbc.edu
Thomas Gower gower1@umbc.edu
Adviser Sally Helms helms@umbc.edu

Statistics 

Senators Eswar Kumar H. K. eswar1@umbc.edu
Luan Nguyen lnguyen4@umbc.edu
Adviser Animikh Biswas abiswas@umbc.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages 

Senators Keneisha Murrell murrell2@umbc.edu
Bridget Simmons bsimm1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Doaa Rashed doaa1@umbc.edu

Texts, Technologies & Literature 

Senators Alex Sutter asutter1@umbc.edu
Adviser N/A