Skip to Main Content

GSOs 2020-21

The groups listed here reflect the graduate student organizations who have registered for the 2020-2021 academic year. If your GSO needs to register, please fill out this form

 

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

 Contacts  Samit Shivadekar samit1@umbc.edu
Ambrose Gonsalo Tuscano atuscan1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Tim Finin finin@umbc.edu

 

Bangledesh Student Association (BSA)

Contacts  Hasib-Al Rashid hrashid1@umbc.edu
 Tashnim Chowdhury tchowdh1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Riadul Islam riaduli@umbc.edu

 

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

Contacts  Xishi (Ethan) Zhu xzhu1@umbc.edu
Xin Wang xinwang11@umbc.edu
Adviser Jianwu Wang jianwu@umbc.edu

Indian Student Association (EKTA)

Contacts Ashuthosh Chandramouli wg07577@umbc.edu
Brahmani Thota bthota1@umbc.edu
Adviser Toby Gouker tgouker@umbc.edu

Iranian Graduate Student Association (IGSA)

Contacts  Sanaz Taherzadeh sanazt1@umbc.edu
Tohid Baradaran Kayyal Tohidb1@umbc.edu
Adviser Hamed Pirsiavash hpirsiav@umbc.edu

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association (MGSA)

Contacts Michael Anthony Fleming fleming3@umbc.edu
Patricia Boyd pboyd2@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Johnson bivins@umbc.edu

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Contacts Luan Nguyen lnguyen4@umbc.edu
Michael Retzlaff mretzla1@umbc.edu
Adviser Bedrich Sousedik sousedik@umbc.edu

Black Graduate Student Organization

Contacts Nicole Telfer ntelfer1@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Johnson bivins@umbc.edu

 

Graduate Program GSOs 

Applied Sociology 

Contacts Fariha Khalid fariha1@umbc.edu
Samantha Fries sf2@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Dena Smith dtsmith@umbc.edu

Atmospheric Physics

Contacts Achala Denagamage dwick1@umbc.edu
Noah Sienkiewicz noahs3@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Zhibo Zhang zzbatmos@umbc.edu

Biological Sciences

GABS (Graduate Association of Biological Sciences) 

Contacts  Shonda Campbell campb2@umbc.edu
Janine Antalffy jana3@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Michelle Starz-Gaiano starz@umbc.edu

Chemistry 

Contacts Ciara Pitman cpitman1@umbc.edu
Laura Kesner laura34@umbc.edu
Adviser Patricia Gagne pgagne1@umbc.edu

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering 

Contacts  Walker Huso whuso1@umbc.edu
Christopher Williams cw9@umbc.edu
Adviser Andrea Miller andrea.miller@umbc.edu

Data Science

The Data Science Echelon Group

Contacts  Sandeep Bansal sbansal1@umbc.edu
Christopher Williams cw9@umbc.edu
Advisers Ergun Simsek simsek@umbc.edu

Emergency Health Services

Contacts  Sanaz Taherzadeh Sanazt1@umbc.edu
Ryan Houser rhouser1@umbc.edu
Adviser Renee Decker rdecker@umbc.edu

Environmental Engineering 

Contacts  Joel Tyson jtyson@umbc.edu
Jahir Antonio Batista Andrade jbatist1@umbc.edu
Adviser Jennie Leach jleach@umbc.edu

Information Systems 

Contacts Zahid Hasan zhasan3@umbc.edu
 Oluwatobiloba Odunsi oodunsi1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Nirmalya Roy nroy@umbc.edu

Intermedia & Digital Arts 

Contacts Maks Prykhodko maksymp1@umbc.edu
Anna Kroll akroll1@umbc.edu
Adviser Kathryn (Kelley) Bell kbell2@umbc.edu

Language, Literacy & Culture 

Contact James Wright jamesw8@umbc.edu
Adviser Liz Steenrod rx35130@umbc.edu

Physics

PGSA (Physics Graduate Student Association)

Contacts Daniel Wines wines1@umbc.edu
Noah Sienkiewicz noahs3@umbc.edu
Adviser Theodosia Gougousi gougousi@umbc.edu

Public Policy

PPGSO (Public Policy Graduate Student Organization) 

Contacts Poulomi Banerjee poulomib22@umbc.edu
Thomas Gower gower1@umbc.edu
Adviser Shelley Morris shelleym@umbc.edu

Statistics

MSGSA (Math and Stats Graduate Student Association) 

Contacts Michael Lucagbo micluca1@umbc.edu
Mark Ramos markram1@umbc.edu
Adviser Yi Huang yihuang@umbc.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

(TESOL Club)

Contacts Bit Na Kim bbkimtesol@umbc.edu
Sarah Gawens sgawens1@umbc.edu
Adviser Shannon Sauro ssauro@umbc.edu