GSOs 2021-2022

The groups listed here reflect the graduate student organizations who have registered for the 2020-2021 academic year. If your GSO needs to register, please fill out this form

 

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

Contacts 

Samit Shivadekar

samit1@umbc.edu

 

Ambrose Gonsalo Tuscano

atuscan1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Tim Finin

finin@umbc.edu

Bangledesh Student Association (BSA)

Contacts 

Pretom Roy Ovi

povi1@umbc.edu

 

Jaeed Bin Saif

jaeedb1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Md. Osman Goni

mogani@umbc.edu

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

Contacts 

Dayuan Tan

dayuan1@umbc.edu

 

Xin Wang

xinwang11@umbc.edu

Adviser

Jianwu Wang

jianwu@umbc.edu

Indian Student Association (EKTA)

Contacts

Shikha Chandreshkumar Patel

jf14891@umbc.edu

 

Pradeep Kumar Reddy Desari Leela

pdesari1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Adam Julian

tgouker@umbc.edu

Iranian Graduate Student Association (IGSA)

Contacts 

Sima Saleh

sisaleh1@umbc.edu

 

Tahereh Hematian pour fard

hemat1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Hamed pirsiavash

hpirsiav@umbc.edu

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association (MGSA)

Contacts 

Michael Fleming

fleming3@umbc.edu

 

Jennifer Kirk

jhaddoc1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Justine Johnson

bivins@umbc.edu

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Contacts 

Luan Nguyen

lnguyen4@umbc.edu

 

Michael Retzlaff

mretzla1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Bedrich Sousedik

sousedik@umbc.edu

Black Graduate Student Organization

Contacts

Nicole Telfer

ntelfer1@umbc.edu

 

Munazza Abraham

munazza1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Justine Johnson

bivins@umbc.edu

Graduate Program GSOs 

Applied Sociology 

Contacts

Fariha Khalid

fariha1@umbc.edu

 

Samantha Fries

sf2@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Dena Smith

dtsmith@umbc.edu

Atmospheric Physics

Contacts

Achala Denagamage

dwick1@umbc.edu

 

Noah Sienkiewicz

noahs3@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Zhibo Zhang

zzbatmos@umbc.edu

Biological Sciences

GABS (Graduate Association of Biological Sciences) 

Contacts 

Rebecca Hill

rebecc8@umbc.edu

 

Ashley Copenhaver

ash35@umbc.edu

Adviser

Michelle Starz-Gaiano

starz@umbc.edu

Chemistry 

Contacts 

Ciara Pitman

cpitman1@umbc.edu

 

Laura Kesner

laura34@umbc.edu

Adviser

Patricia Gagne

pgagne1@umbc.edu

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering 

Contacts 

Walker Huso

whuso1@umbc.edu

Christopher Williams

cw9@umbc.edu

Adviser

Andrea Miller

andrea.miller@umbc.edu

Data Science

The Data Science Echelon Group

Contacts 

Sandeep Bansal

sbansal1@umbc.edu

Christopher Williams

cw9@umbc.edu

Adviser

Ergun Simsek

simsek@umbc.edu

Emergency Health Services

Contacts 

Sanaz Taherzadeh

Sanazt1@umbc.edu

Ryan Houser

rhouser1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Renee Decker

rdecker@umbc.edu

Environmental Engineering 

Contacts 

Joel Tyson

jtyson@umbc.edu

Jahir Antonio Batista Andrade

jbatist1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Jennie Leach

jleach@umbc.edu

Historical Studies

Contacts 

Aimee Pohl

apohl1@umbc.edu

 

Garrett Freas

gfreas1@umbc.edu

Adviser

George D Musgrove

derek.musgrove@umbc.edu

Information Systems 

Contacts

Zahid Hasan

zhasan3@umbc.edu

Oluwatobiloba Odunsi

oodunsi1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Nirmalya Roy

nroy@umbc.edu

Intermedia & Digital Arts 

Contacts

Anna Kroll

akroll1@umbc.edu

Kristin Putchinski

k248@umbc.edu

Adviser

Kathryn (Kelley) Bell

kbell2@umbc.edu

Language, Literacy & Culture 

Contact

Kara Seidel

Seidelk1@umbc.edu

Nneka Chisholm

nnekac1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Beverly Bickel

bickel@umbc.edu

Physics

PGSA (Physics Graduate Student Association)

Contacts

Noah Sienkiewicz

noahs3@umbc.edu

Dan Wines

wines1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Theodosia Gougousi

gougousi@umbc.edu

Public Policy

PPGSO (Public Policy Graduate Student Organization) 

Contacts

Poulomi Banerjee

poulomib22@umbc.edu

 

Thomas Gower

gower1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Lauren Edwards

ledwards@umbc.edu

Statistics

MSGSA (Math and Stats Graduate Student Association) 

Contacts

Gaurab Hore

gaurabh1@umbc.edu

 

Yewon Kim

yewon1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Dr. Yi Huang and Dr. Andrei Draganescu

yihuang@umbc.edu and draga@umbc.edu

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

(TESOL Club)

Contacts

Lucia Demarchi

ldemarc1@umbc.edu

 

Sarah Gawens

sgawens1@umbc.edu

Adviser

Shannon Sauro

ssauro@umbc.edu