Skip to Main Content

GSOs 2021-2022

The groups listed here reflect the graduate student organizations who have registered for the 2020-2021 academic year. If your GSO needs to register, please fill out this form

 

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

 Contacts  Samit Shivadekar samit1@umbc.edu
Ambrose Gonsalo Tuscano atuscan1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Tim Finin finin@umbc.edu

 

Bangledesh Student Association (BSA)

Contacts  Pretom Roy Ovi povi1@umbc.edu
Jaeed Bin Saif jaeedb1@umbc.edu
Adviser Md. Osman Goni mogani@umbc.edu

 

Chinese Student and Scholar Association (CSSA)

Contacts  Dayuan Tan dayuan1@umbc.edu
Xin Wang xinwang11@umbc.edu
Adviser Jianwu Wang jianwu@umbc.edu

 

Indian Student Association (EKTA)

Contacts Shikha Chandreshkumar Patel jf14891@umbc.edu
Pradeep Kumar Reddy Desari Leela pdesari1@umbc.edu
Adviser Adam Julian tgouker@umbc.edu

 

Iranian Graduate Student Association (IGSA)

Contacts  Sima Saleh sisaleh1@umbc.edu
Tahereh Hematian pour fard hemat1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Hamed pirsiavash hpirsiav@umbc.edu

Meyerhoff Graduate Student Association (MGSA)

Contacts Michael Fleming fleming3@umbc.edu
Jennifer Kirk jhaddoc1@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Johnson bivins@umbc.edu

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Contacts Luan Nguyen lnguyen4@umbc.edu
Michael Retzlaff mretzla1@umbc.edu
Adviser Bedrich Sousedik sousedik@umbc.edu

Black Graduate Student Organization

Contacts Nicole Telfer ntelfer1@umbc.edu
Munazza Abraham munazza1@umbc.edu
Adviser Justine Johnson bivins@umbc.edu

 

Graduate Program GSOs 

Applied Sociology 

Contacts Fariha Khalid fariha1@umbc.edu
Samantha Fries sf2@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Dena Smith dtsmith@umbc.edu

Atmospheric Physics

Contacts Achala Denagamage dwick1@umbc.edu
Noah Sienkiewicz noahs3@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Zhibo Zhang zzbatmos@umbc.edu

 

Biological Sciences

GABS (Graduate Association of Biological Sciences) 

Contacts  Rebecca Hill rebecc8@umbc.edu
Ashley Copenhaver ash35@umbc.edu
Adviser Michelle Starz-Gaiano starz@umbc.edu

Chemistry 

Contacts Ciara Pitman cpitman1@umbc.edu
Laura Kesner laura34@umbc.edu
Adviser Patricia Gagne pgagne1@umbc.edu

 

Chemical & Biochemical Engineering 

Contacts  Walker Huso whuso1@umbc.edu
Christopher Williams cw9@umbc.edu
Adviser Andrea Miller andrea.miller@umbc.edu

Data Science

The Data Science Echelon Group

Contacts  Sandeep Bansal sbansal1@umbc.edu
Christopher Williams cw9@umbc.edu
Advisers Ergun Simsek simsek@umbc.edu

Emergency Health Services

Contacts  Sanaz Taherzadeh Sanazt1@umbc.edu
Ryan Houser rhouser1@umbc.edu
Adviser Renee Decker rdecker@umbc.edu

Environmental Engineering 

Contacts  Joel Tyson jtyson@umbc.edu
Jahir Antonio Batista Andrade jbatist1@umbc.edu
Adviser Jennie Leach jleach@umbc.edu

 

Historical Studies

Contacts  Aimee Pohl apohl1@umbc.edu
Garrett Freas gfreas1@umbc.edu
Adviser George D Musgrove derek.musgrove@umbc.edu

 

Information Systems 

Contacts Zahid Hasan zhasan3@umbc.edu
 Oluwatobiloba Odunsi oodunsi1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Nirmalya Roy nroy@umbc.edu

Intermedia & Digital Arts 

Contacts Anna Kroll akroll1@umbc.edu
Kristin Putchinski k248@umbc.edu
Adviser Kathryn (Kelley) Bell kbell2@umbc.edu

Language, Literacy & Culture 

Contact Kara Seidel Seidelk1@umbc.edu
Nneka Chisholm nnekac1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Beverly Bickel bickel@umbc.edu

Physics

PGSA (Physics Graduate Student Association)

Contacts Noah Sienkiewicz noahs3@umbc.edu
Dan Wines wines1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Theodosia Gougousi gougousi@umbc.edu

Public Policy

PPGSO (Public Policy Graduate Student Organization) 

Contacts Poulomi Banerjee poulomib22@umbc.edu
Thomas Gower gower1@umbc.edu
Adviser Lauren Edwards ledwards@umbc.edu

Statistics

MSGSA (Math and Stats Graduate Student Association) 

Contacts Gaurab Hore gaurabh1@umbc.edu
Yewon Kim yewon1@umbc.edu
Adviser Dr. Yi Huang and Dr. Andrei Draganescu yihuang@umbc.edu and draga@umbc.edu

 

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages

(TESOL Club)

Contacts Lucia Demarchi ldemarc1@umbc.edu
Sarah Gawens sgawens1@umbc.edu
Adviser Shannon Sauro ssauro@umbc.edu